Awards for service to pathology and to the British Division - 2010

The Roger Cotton Prize for the best paper in the Division's journal, Histopathology

The Cunningham Medal for service to the British Division of the IAP

The President's Medal for service to education in pathology



Dr Monica Mannelqvist and Dr Oleksiy Tysbrovskyy


The panel of judges for the 2009 Roger Cotton Histopathology prize met in London on 5th February 2010, under the chairmanship of Professor Claude Cuvelier. Because of the high standard of published papers in 2009, the judges, as last year, were unable to reach a consensus on the best paper. The joint winners were:
Dr Monica Mannelqvist of the Grade Institute, Section of Pathology, University of Bergen, Norway for her paper "Importance of tumour cell invasion in blood and lymphatic vasculature among patients with endometrial carcinoma" which appeared in Histopathology 2009: 54: 174-183. Her co-authors were Ingunn Stefansson, Helga B Salvesen and Lars Akslen.
Dr Oleksiy Trsbrovskyy
of the institute of Pathology, Medical University of Graz, Austria for his paper "Oncocytic versus mitochondria-rich follicular thyroid tumours: should we make a difference?" which appeared in Histopathology 55; 666-682. His co-author was Martina R RÖßmannn-Tysbrovskyy

After the Dinner on the 26th November 2010, during the BDIAP Scientific meeting on Head and Neck Pathology, the President, Professor Neil Shepherd, presented the Division's Cunningham Medal for service to the British Division to the BDIAP retiring Meetings Secretary, Professor Bryan Warren (below right).

Cunningham MedalBryan Warren

At the same event, Professor Shepherd also presented the President's Medal for service to education in pathology to Professor Chris Meijer (below right). The medal was accepted in Professor Meijer's absence by Professsor Claude Cuvelier (below left).



PREVIOUS YEARS: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009